Board of Directors

Nathan Mitchell

Executive Chairman

Mr Mitchell was appointed to the Board on 29 November 2013 and appointed as Executive Chairman on 19 March 2014. Mr Mitchell has been involved in the drilling industry for virtually his entire life. With a career spanning almost 30 years, he has a proven track record as an industry leader in technical development and business growth. Mr Mitchell is currently Executive Chairman of the Mitchell Group including Energy and Equipment. Previously, as CEO of Mitchell Drilling Contractors, Mr Mitchell led the Company through a period of rapid local growth and directed an international expansion into India, China, Indonesia, the United States and southern Africa. Other directorships include Mitchell Drilling International Pty Ltd and Sub161 Pty Ltd. Mr Mitchell also previously served on the board of Tlou Energy Limited (ASX:TOU) from June 2009 to February 2016.

Robert Douglas BCom, LLB

Non-Executive Director

Mr Douglas was appointed a Non–Executive Director on 29 November 2013. Mr Douglas has over 15 years of experience in finance and investment banking and is currently an Executive Director of Morgans Financial. Mr Douglas has experience in all aspects of corporate advisory and equity capital raising for listed public companies and companies seeking to list, including offer structure, prospectus preparation, due diligence, accounts and forecasting, risk management, sales and marketing, logistics and legal requirements. During this time Mr Douglas has worked extensively with energy and resource companies.

Neal O'Connor LLB, GAICD

Non-Executive Director

Mr O’Connor was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 20 October 2015 and is also Chairman of the Audit and Risk and Remuneration and Nomination Committees. Mr O’Connor was formerly General Counsel and Company Secretary and an Executive Committee member of the global Xstrata Copper. He has extensive experience in the resource industry and brings an added focus on Corporate Governance and Risk Management to the Board.

Peter Hudson BA (Acct), GAICD, ACA

Non-Executive Director

Mr Hudson was appointed to the Board on 20 July 2020 and is a member of the Remuneration and Nominations committee and Chair of the Audit and Risk committee.

As an Australian Chartered Accountant and graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Mr Hudson is an experienced business professional with over 20 years’ advising corporate clients undertaking complex transactions across Australia and overseas.

Mr Hudson was a partner at KPMG for 11 years until July 2016. During this time, Mr Hudson provided assistance to clients undertaking complex transactions and capital raisings across a wide range of sectors including agriculture, funds management, mining and infrastructure. Mr Hudson was the Partner in charge of the Queensland Advisory Practice and co-lead the firm’s National Government Asset Sale team.

Mr Hudson now runs a small firm focussed on investment into small to medium sized Australian businesses. In addition to his role as a Non-Executive Director of Youngcare Limited (commenced February 2012), Mr Hudson also provides consultancy services to a range of clients including large corporates, family businesses and Governments.

Mr Hudson’s previous Board roles include Non-Executive Director and member of the Audit & Risk board sub-committees for Powerlink Queensland (December 2016 to May 2019) and Queensland Theatre Company (February 2012 to June 2018).

Peter Miller

Peter Miller

Non-Executive Director

Mr Miller founded Drill Torque in 1992 with one drill rig, which grew to 29 rigs prior to the acquisition of Well Drilled. Mr Miller has been involved in all aspects of the drilling industry for the past 28 years. His experience encompasses working with all types of drilling rigs, building rigs and managing drilling companies. Having worked in most exploration areas in Australia he knows the drilling conditions, equipment requirements and pricing structure to maximise productivity for the company’s fleet. Mr Miller is widely known and well regarded in the industry.

Scott Tumbridge

Non-Executive Director

Mr Tumbridge was appointed to the board on 29 November 2019 as an Non-Executive Director upon the acquisition of Deepcore Drilling.  As the Founder and Chairman of Deepcore Drilling over the past 15 years, Mr Tumbridge grew the company to span over the eastern states of Australia and Asia pacific, with over 30 rigs in operation. In that time, Mr Tumbridge worked closely with clients to develop unique underground and surface drilling rigs designed for specialised drilling requirements at mines throughout the Asia pacific region.

Mr Tumbridge has attained premium accomplishments in corporate governance, business development and operations, driving highly successful “in-demand” business services that provide innovative operational, environmental and safety solutions to our clients, employees and the community. With over 25 years in the drilling industry, working throughout the Asia Pacific area, he  brings unique and specialised experience to the Board.


Grant Eric Moyle

Alternate Director

Mr Moyle was appointed as Alternate Director for Mr Nathan Mitchell on 30 May 2014.

Mr Moyle is the Executive Director of the Mitchell Group in Brisbane. He brings to the Group his management and board experience in International Mining Services, Governance and Strategic Business Growth.